Five Municipal Wards By-elections Are Up For Grabs

Siboniso Mawandla | The Republic Mail

By Siboniso Mawandla

A total of five municipal ward by-elections will take place in the Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng and Western Cape today as 20 candidates representing eight political parties.

Ward 7 in the Eastern Cape in the Ngqushwa Municipality will be contested by the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) and the African National Congress (ANC). Nontsikelelo Majamani of the EFF will go head-to-head with ANC’s Mlungiseleli Luzipho.

The ward was under the ANC and became vacant when the ANC councillor died. The voter turnout for this ward in the 2016 Municipal Elections was 59.61% and the ANC candidate won the ward with 81.31% of valid votes.

The Democratic Alliance (DA) will look into retaining their ward 3 after its councillor in the Matjhabeng Municipality as six political parties’ battle for control of the ward. Mofihli Phillip Thejane of the African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP); Sabata Dominic Lenong of the ANC; Margaretha Johanna Badenhorst of the DA; Sello Patrick Molefi of the EFF; Lesego Wilfred Masibi of the Power of Africans Unity (PAU); and Motete Petrus Kopela of the United Front of Civics (UFC).

The ward was left vacant following the resignation of a DA Councillor.

In Gauteng, the ACDP, EFF, ANC and DA will contest for Ward 91 in the City of Ekurhuleni.

While in the Western Cape Ward 5 in the Bergrivier Municipality will be contested by Billy J Claasen of the ANC; Martha van der Ventel of the Cape Party (CP); Sarah Willemse of the DA; and Dirk Jakobus Adams of the EFF.