SABC Interim Board Contract Has Lapsed

PICTURE: Oupa Nkosi, M&G
The six month term of the interim board, which was appointed by President Jacob Zuma on recommendation from the National Assembly following a pubic inquiry resulting in the dissolution of the board, came to an end yesterday. 
“The President has thanked the outgoing members of the Interim Board for their service and contribution to the governance of the public broadcaster.” 
On September 6, the National Assembly recommended Khanyisile Kweyama, Mathatha Tsedu, Michael Markovitz, Nomvuyiso Batyi, Rachel Kalidass, Victor Rambau, John Matisonn, Jack Phalane, Dinkwanyane Mohuba, Bongumusa Makhathini, Krish Naidoo and Febe Potgieter-Gqubule, to serve on the board. 
The recommendation was sent to Zuma for approval. 
Meanwhile, President Zuma is said to be considering the 12 names recommended by the National Assembly to serve on a new permanent board of the struggling SABC, his office said on Tuesday.