Spring Boks Seven On A Back- To- Back Win In Dubia

picture : rugby svenes twitter page

The Springbok Sevens team won a second Emirates Airline Dubai Sevens title at The Sevens Stadium on Saturday and again took an early lead in the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

The Blitzboks outplayed New Zealand 24-12 in a hard-fought final to keep their unbeaten record in Dubai in 2017 intact, following wins over Samoa (26-10) and Fiji (12-7) in the quarterfinals and semifinals of the tournament respectively.

South Africa took advantage of an early yellow card to New Zealand winger Joe Ravouvou to score three quick tries and race into a commanding 19-0 lead at the break. Tries by Philip Snyman, Seabelo Senatla and Kwagga Smith gave the Blitzboks all the momentum needed.

New Zealand tried a comeback when they scored two tries in rapid succession  but once numbers were restored again, Tim Agaba crashed over to confirm the result.

Agaba was the only player in the squad not part of the 2016 squad that also won the Dubai title.

Springbok Sevens coach, Neil Powell, said every tournament win has a special feeling.

“Each one has its unique circumstances and effort, so this is really pleasing for me as a coach and for us as a group. We had a number of players who played fifteens during our off season and they joined us late, but I was very impressed with the way they got back into the sevens groove and culture. It helps to have a solid sevens foundation,” Powell said.

South Africa will face Russia, France and Kenya in Cape Town next weekend in the third edition of the popular CapeTown 7s taking place at the iconic Cape Town Stadium on Saturday and Sunday, 9- 10 December