South Africa; Australia Sunfoil Test Battle Begins

Picture : Zeelive

Bad lighting from Sahara Stadium Kingsmead in Durban on Thursday, was the main cause of when the first Sunfoil Test match ended. The game had to be stopped at 4:27pm CAT (SA, GMT+2) in the final session.

South Africa have won the last three series in Australia, and the Baggy Greens are yet to lose a series in South Africa since Bill Lawries’s guys’ 4-0 drubbing by Ali Bacher’s Untouchables in 1970.

They was a very disappointing  crowd of 3 957 in the match anticipated Series and the Proteas were not doing very good in this game.  Australia won the toss and  elected to bet first and it looked like the visitors meant nothing but business as when the match was ended they had made an impressive  225/5 after 76 overs.

The Proteas welcomed back their captain  Faf du Plessis and the phenomenal AB de Villiers, who both missed substantial portions of the India tour due to injuries.

Keshav Maharaj was key to the Proteas strategy after the Proteas decided to strengthen their batting with the inclusion of Theunis de Bruyn and field only four specialist bowlers.

The strategy was sound as the surface was one that allowed Faf du Plessis to employ him early in the day and he sent down the most overs of any of the Proteas attack (2/69 in 24 overs).

South Africa’s best bowler was pace-man Vernon Philander  took 2-36 in 17 controlled overs, while Maharaj took 2-69.

There were two 56-run partnerships the third wicket between David Warner who made 51 outoff 79 balls, and 6 fours , Smith made 56 off 114 balls, 11 fours and the fourth wicket between Smith and Shaun Marsh,40 off 96 balls, 6 fours.

Play will resume, 10am on Friday.

SOUTH AFRICA: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis (capt), Quinton de Kock (wk), Theunis de Bruyn, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel

AUSTRALIA: David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith (capt), Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood