Banyana Banyana Held Korea DP In A Goalless Draw

Picture :

In their last and final game of the group stages Banyana Banyana held Korea DP in a goalless draw, Banyana are ranked  54th position and  Korea DP ranked 11th in the FIFA Women’s World rankings.

Korea DP were a late replacement in the tournament, taking the place of Trinidad and Tobago who withdrew shortly before the start of the competition.
South Africa head coach Desiree Ellis made four changes to the starting line-up, bringing on goalkeeper Kaylin Swart for Roxanne Barker, Regina Mogolola for Lebohang Ramalepe, Leandra Smeda for Nothando Vilakazi and Linda Motlhalo for Sduduzo Dlamini.
Both teams were able to create chances but they couldn’t find the back of the net.
The match was clearly a great advert for women’s football as both teams were a marvel to watch.

The result means Banyana Banyana complete the group stages with five points, two behind log leaders Korea.

The South Africans are still in line to get their highest finish in the tournament when they will be contesting for position five or six on Wednesday, 7 March against an as yet unidentified opponent in the last match of the competition.

In their inaugural appearance of the Cyprus Cup in 2009, they came sixth – at the time there were only eight teams in the tournament.

Banyana Banyana return home on Friday, 9 March.


Banyana Banyana results in GROUP C:

South Africa        0 – 0        Slovakia

South Africa        1 – 0        Hungary

Korea DPR         0 – 0        South Africa


South Africa

Kaylin Swart (GK), Regina Mogolola, Leandra Smeda, Bambanani Mbane, Janine van Wyk (c), Refiloe Jane (Chantelle Esau), Rachel Sebati (Nompumelelo Nyandeni), Kgaelebane Mohlakoana (Jermaine Seoposenwe), Melinda Kgadiete (Noko Matlou), Linda Motlhalo, Thembi Kgatlana

Korea DPR:

Kim Myongsun (GK), Ri Unyong, Wi Jongsim, Ju Hyosim, Yu Jong Im, Sung Hyangsim, Kim Yunmi (C), Kim Phyonghwa, Ri Hyangsim, Kim Unha, Son Okju