Stuart Baxter Reveal Preliminary COSAFA Cup Squad

Picture: Safa

JOHANNESBURG: Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter on Thursday has announced a preliminary squad of 34 players for the upcoming COSAFA Cup.

All 34 have to be registered with Cosafa by Friday, 4 May 2018. The list will be trimmed down to 20 players that will take part in the tournament.

Bafana Bafana assemble for camp on Saturday, 26 May, and the tournament kicks off the next day in Polokwane. It runs until Sunday, 9 June.

South Africa got a bye in the first round and will only join the action in the quarterfinal stage when they face the winner of Group A on Saturday, 2 June 2018. Madagascar, Mozambique, Comoros and Seychelles are in Group A, while Botswana, Angola, Mauritius and Malawi make up Group B.

The matches will be played at three venues – Old Peter Mokaba Stadium, Seshego Stadium as well as the New Peter Mokaba Stadium.

The final takes place on Sunday, 9 June.

Preliminary Bafana Bafana squad for 2018 Cosafa Cup

Goalkeepers:  Bruce BVUMA (Kaizer Chiefs), Reyaad Pieterse (Supersport United), Brandon Petersen (Ajax Cape Town)

Defenders: Reeve  Frosler (Bidvest Wits), Grant Kekana (Supersport United), Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Taariq Fielies (Cape Town City), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Musa Lebusa (Ajax Cape Town), Sibusiso Mabiliso (AmaZulu), Paseka Mako (Chippa United), Mothobi Mvala (Highlands Park)

Midfielders: Wiseman Meyiwa (Kaizer Chiefs), Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg United), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Goodman Mosele (Baroka), Aubrey Modiba (Supersport United), Jamie Webber (Supersport United), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United), Grant Margeman (Ajax Cape Town), Siphelele Ntshangase (Kaizer Chiefs), Abednego Mosiatlhaga (Bidvest Wits), Gift Links (Alassiouty Sport), Phakamani Mahlambi (Al Ahly), Vincent Pule (Bidvest Wits)

Strikers: Gift Motupa (Baroka FC), Lyle Foster (Orlando Pirates), Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs), Luther Singh (SC Braga B) FC (Portugal), Lebo Mothiba (Lille FC)