National Under-19 Training Camp Underway


JOHANNESBURG: The next generation of young South African cricketers have reconvened at the Powerade Centre of Excellence in Pretoria as 27 hopefuls hope to crack the Coca-Cola South Africa under-19s team that will tour England in July 2018.

The U19 programme has proved time and time again, to be one of the most crucial in the CSA development pipeline, with the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Andile Phehlukwayo and more recently, Wiaan Mulder coming through the ranks, before going on to make their debuts for the Standard Bank Proteas.

“It’s quite an exciting group that has been put together. We obviously have guys who have just come back from the World Cup, earlier this year. The series against England is very important and we basically have three generations of U19s in one camp, so it will be interesting to see how they go through it,” says SA U19 Head Coach, Lawrence Mahatlane.

After rigorous fitness tests conducted on Thursday, 24 May, the squad will put their skills on display when they play in two inter-squad matches, beginning with a timed-match at the Groenkloof Oval on Friday and Saturday, before wrapping up the camp on Sunday with a 50-over game at Sinoville Cricket Club.

“Fortunately, our monitoring processes are always good, so we generally know where different guys are and this weekend, as we’re playing a two-day game and a one-day game. It’s an opportunity for some young men to see where they are.

“At this time of the season, we know from a South African point of view, we’re in our off-season, so it is important that we spend the next month trying to make sure that we fast-track them without any injuries. So, it’s crucial that from a Cricket South Africa and the U19 team’s point of view, we get the balance right.” Mahatlane added.

Details of the England tour will be released in due course.

South Africa under-19 Squad:

Bryce Parsons (Gauteng), Matthew Montgomery (KwaZulu-Natal Dolphins), Thando Ntini (Western Province), Curtis Campher (Gauteng), Jade de Klerk (Eastern Province), Kenan Smith (Eastern Province), Kgaudise Molefe (Gauteng), Sinethemba Qeshile (Border), Jacob Miltz (Gauteng), Louis van Schalkwyk (North West), Joshua Richards (Gauteng), Mondli Khumalo (KwaZulu-Natal Inland), Sean Gilson (KwaZulu-Natal Inland), Gideon Peters (Northerns), Lifa Ntanzi (KwaZulu-Natal Dolphins), Wandile Makwetu (Gauteng), Jonathan Bird (Western Province), Pheko Moletsane (Free State), Andile Mogakane (KwaZulu-Natal Dolphins), Jean du Plessis (South Western Districts), Ruan Cronje (Free State), Thamsanqa Khumalo (KwaZulu-Natal Dolphins), Michael Mahlaba (Gauteng), Archille Cloete (Boland), Duane Jansen (North West), Marco Jansen (North West), Jarred Goncalves-Jardine (Gauteng).