PSL May End Up With 18 Teams After Ajax Ruling

Picture: Soccer Laduma

JOHANNESBURG: The Premier Soccer League (PSL) 2018/19 season could possibly have 18 teams according to KickOff magazine editor Zola Doda. 

Speaking to a Johannesburg-based talk radio yesterday, Doda says that it would be impossible for the PSL to find any other alternative at this point.

He says factors such as teams having bought new players, releasing old players and players on loan would make it difficult for the league to relegate a team.

“I think that is where it’s heading to. Even if the PSL were to have the playoffs replayed, it’s going to create chaos.

[ALSO READ]: Chaos Expected After Ajax’s Favourable Court Ruling 

“The best thing for the PSL to do is to have an 18 team PSL, but can they do that a month before the season starts?” 

The confusion is as a result of Tendai Ndoro.  In the 2017/18 season Ndoro played and featured for three clubs, Orlando Pirates, Al Faisaly, and Ajax Cape Town, which was in breach of FIFA regulations.  As a result, Ajax Cape Town had to forfeit the three league games he had appeared in for them, resulting in their relegation from the PSL.

That relegation was declared unlawful after the South Gauteng High Court reinstated Ajax to the PSL, with all their docked points.

Doda believes that this is the league’s undoing as they are not strict when it comes to enforcing rules.

He concluded by saying the PSL needs to thoroughly inspect its legal department before the commencement of the new season.