Momentum Proteas Squad To Tour West Indies Named

Picture : IOL

JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa has announced the new caps to the squad that will tour to West Indies for the three-match One-Day International from 10 September to 06 October.

Powerade National Academy graduates Tumi Sekhukhune, Saarah Smith and Robin Searle will embark on their first international tour when the Proteas take on the Windies in a three-match One-Day International (ODI) and five-match T20 International series in Barbados and Trinidad.

This selection was made at third annual CSA North vs South competition in Pretoria where 26 of the country’s most promising cricketers were assembled for a grueling three days of competitive T20s.

Clinton Du Preez, who is the National Convenor of Selectors has stressed that South Africa is still keeping a keen eye on their progress in the One-Day game as they continue to target direct qualification into the 2021 ICC World Cup in New Zealand. The ODI series will form part of the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) with crucial points up for grabs.

“We can’t lose focus on the IWC because that allows for qualification into the World Cup 2021, so we need to make sure we are still giving ODI cricket the attention it deserves,” he went on.

Ayabonga Khaka has been ruled out of the tour after undergoing shoulder surgery. She will be out for four to six weeks as she targets a return to action in the World T20. Other team movements see the return of veteran wicket-keeper Trisha Chetty.

“We have always got very high hopes with every tour that comes along, especially with this West Indies tour coming along so close to the World T20. We have not settled on our final World Cup squad yet, we’re still looking at one or two other combinations,” Du Preez concluded.

Momentum Proteas squad to West Indies: Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Chloe Tryon (vice-captain, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Lizelle Lee (North West), Suné Luus (Northerns), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Zintle Mali (Border), Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Robyn Searle (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Saarah Smith (Western Province).